A part of Indiaonline network empowering local businesses
Home city guide administration in bangalore

Administration in Bangalore

Administration in Bangalore

Bangalore now named as Bangaluru is the capital city of Karnataka. It is one of the most populous city in India, and ranked at third position. The administrative body of Bangalore is Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike (BBMP) which is responsible for all the governance in the city. It represents the third level of governance in city first and second are Central and state Government respectively. 

Members of Bruhat Bengaluru Mahanagara Palike are called as the "corporators". Corporators are the representatives of each city wards. After interval of one year, a mayor and deputy mayor is appointed by the city council. While in the absence of these two position , BBMP is run an Administrator and a Commissioner, These two government employees are elected by State government.

BBMP is alone responsible for the all civic and infrastructural assets of the Bangalore city. Some times BBMP works in association with the other civic bodies like Agenda for Bengaluru Infrastracture Development Task Force (ABIDe) and the Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) to look after the city responsibilities.

Bangalore Development Authority (BDA)

Bangalore Development Authority (BDA) is a regulatory body formed by the Bangalore government to as the principal authority. Under the Karnataka Town and Country Planning Act of 1961 (KTCPA), Bangalore development Authority function has been defined as the "to prepare in the prescribed manner a Comprehensive Development Plan".

Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (BMDRA)

Under the BMRDA Act 1985 an autonomous body has been created by the government of Bangalore to supervise, co-ordinate development of Bangalore metropolitan areas including Bangalore Urban district, Bangalore Rural district and Ramanagar District.

Chief minister being the chairperson of BMRDA, the power of BMRDA is in the hand of Karnantaka chief minister and the vice chairman of BMRDA is Minister for urban development. Metropolitan Area Commissioner is the member secretary.

Bangalore Metropolitan Region Development Authority (BMDRA) works as an umbrella organization and plays a significant role in the implementation of urban development policies in Bangalore. It is located in Ali Asgar Road in Bangalore.

Bangalore Metropolitan Region (BMR) encompasses the following functional authority in the city.
  • Bangalore Development Authority (BDA)
  • Bangalore – Mysore Infrastructure Corridor Area Planning Authority (BMICAPA)
  • Nelamangal Planning Authority (NPA)
  • Ramanagar-Channapatna Urban Development Authority(RCIDA)
  • Magadi Planning Authority (MPA)
  • All Interstitial Zones in Bangalore Metropolitan Region (Iz’s BMR)
  • Anekal Planning Authority (APA)
  • Hosakote Planning Authority (HPA)
  • Kanakapura Planning Authority (HPA)
  • Area Planning Zone-1 (Excluding RDUDA & BMICAPA )
  • Bangalore International Airport Area Planning Authority (BIAAPA)
  • Bangalore – Mysore Infrastructure Corridor Area Planning Authority (BMICAPA)

Bangalore Water Supply and Sewerage Board

Bangalore Water Supply and Sewerage Board is the functional body responsible for the sewage disposal and water supply in Bangalore. Per day approximately 900 million litres (238 million gallons) of water has been supplied in Bangalore by BWSSB, excluding 1.3 million litres of water demanded by municipality. The major source of water in Bangalore comes from Cauvery river, second is the Arkavathy River but still the demand is not fulfilled 80% of water supply in Bangalore comes from Cauvery river.

Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation

All public transport and bus services are controlled by the Bangalore Metropolitan Transport Corporation. A wide array of transport services has been arranged by the BMTC which include Red buses,Suvarna, BIG 10, BIG circle, Pushpak, Vajra, Vayu Vajra, Atal sarige, marcopolo AC, metro feeder. BMTC is now going to introduce solar energy driven buses and has also introduced Mercedes benz trial bus service. 

Bangalore Electricity Supply Company (BESCOM)distribute electricity to eight district of Karnataka. It is divided into three three operating zones - Bangalore Rural Area Zone Bangalore Metropolitan Area Zon, and Chitradurga Zone.

Bangalore City Police

It is the premier government body built to enforce law and order in Bangalore. It is divided into seven zones East, North-East, South-Eas, West, North, South, and Central. Each zones are further divided into three sub-divisions and each sub-division has a number of police station. 

Each seven zones are governed by Assistant Commissioner of Police while each police stations are headed by a Police inspector. The commissioner of Police is further assisted by one Joint Commissioner of Police, four additional Police commissioner and 18 Deputy commissioners of Police.

Bangalore City Traffic Police

To manage the traffic flow in the city of Bangalore Bangalore City Traffic Police (also known as BTP) has been established. BTP consist of more than 3250 full-time personnel which include 44 Police Inspectors (PIs), 267 Police Sub-Inspectors (PSIs), 317 Assistant Sub-Inspectors (SIs), 777 Head Constables (HCs), and 1845 Police Constables (PCs).

Also Read:
Hotels in Bengaluru near Majestic | Hotels in Indiranagar Bengaluru | Hotels in Koramangala in Bengaluru | 3 Star Hotels in Bengaluru | 5 Star Hotels in Bengaluru | Hotels in Bengaluru | Budget Hotels in Bengaluru | Cheap Accomodations in Bengaluru | Hotels near Bengaluru Airport | Hotels on MG Road | Hotels near Whitefield Bengaluru | Luxury Hotels in Bengaluru

You may also like to visit

Major Cities You Must Know

Are you a Business Owner?

Add the products or services you offer

Promote your business on your local city site and get instant enquiries